Capping Schools

Fifteen schools will be capped for the 2016-2017 school year in WCPSS.  When a school is capped, it means that an enrollment limit has been established.  If that enrollment limit is reached, then even families who move into the base attendance area of that school cannot attend there.  They will be offered seats at a nearby school with space.

Nine schools will maintain a previously established enrollment cap.  They are: Hodge Road Elementary, Holly Grove Elementary, Hunter Elementary, Mills Park Elementary, Walnut Creek Elementary, Mills Park Middle, Enloe High, Heritage High, and Panther Creek High.

Two schools will have enrollment caps removed: Cary Elementary and Davis Drive Middle.

Six new schools will be capped.  They are Cedar Fork Elementary, Davis Drive Elementary, Fuquay-Varina Elementary, Wiley Elementary, Apex Middle, and Fuquay-Varina High.

Cedar Fork Elementary is an unusual case.  It has modular facilities on campus by way of a special-use permit issued by the Town of Morrisville.  It’s not clear whether or not the permit will be renewed.  So, there are two enrollment limits for this school – one with, and one without, the modular facilities.

In a related policy move, the school board made changes to the transfer policy.  The changes allow school system staff more oversight of transfer decisions.  This effectively prioritizes a school’s base population over transfer students.

Scroll to Top