Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body for WakeEd Partnership. It is primarily made up of business and community leaders who are deeply involved in public education. To join our Board, contact WakeEd President Steve Parrott at (919) 780-5205.


2019-2020 Board of Directors

John Hummel, Sinclair Broadcasting Group WakeEd Board Chair

John Hummel serves as General Manager for WLFL/WRDC in the Raleigh market providing planning, direction and execution of all departments and personnel at WLFL/WRDC Television.  He programmed both stations while rebuilding the entire sales management and staff. Mr. Hummel’s philosophy is deeply rooted in the success of the individual aided by management’s interest and guidance in their personal growth which leads to their business success. From 1997-2005 Mr. Hummel worked with Fox Station and Fox Television as Director of Sales. He was responsible for the direction and execution of New York sales team(s), five regional offices and the national revenue for eleven of the Fox owned and operated stations. In 1980 Mr. Hummel began his career with broadcasting serving in various positions.

Members (Listed Alphabetically)

Braxton Anthony, Rich Commercial Realty

Emma Browning, Paradox Consulting Partners, LLC

Rob Buhler, Chair Elect, BAERING

Dr. Seth Carruthers, LORD Corporation

Cris Charbonneau, Communications Strategist

Dr. Will Chavis, WCPSS Principal of the Year

Betsy Reade Creech, Kane Realty Corporation

Scott Duda, Cherry Bekaert, LLP

David Ellis, Wake County Manager

Lindsey Evans, 2019-20 WCPSS Teacher of the Year

Gary Greene, Greene Resources, Inc.

Cara Greening, STEWART

Sharon Gupton, Fonville Morisey Realty

Jennifer Hickerson, Alfred Williams & Company

John Hummel, Chair, Sinclair Broadcasting Group

Chad Humphrey, Balfour Beatty

Carey Hunter, Principal Financial Group

Chris Isley, BB&T

Stephanie Jensen, BASF

Curtis Ladig, Delta Dental of NC

Rod Malone, Tharrington Smith

Dana Martinez, Biogen

Scot McAlexander, Xenith Bank

Cathy Moore, Wake County Public School System, Superintendent

Steve Parrott, WakeEd Partnership President

Michael Perera, IBM

Jennifer Pittman, ABB, Inc.

Simmi Prasad, U.S. Trust

Marion Robinson, Retired, State Employees’ Credit Union

Pamela Rose, Dude Solutions

Jamie Royster, Lenovo

Steven Slee, Fifth Third Bank

Marcus Smith, PNC Bank

Doug Sprecher, First Citizens Bank

Roxann Sykes, WCPSS Assistant Principal of the Year

Walt Tippett, Brooks Pierce

Cleon Umphrey, Raleigh Durham Airport Authority of NC

Kassandra Watson, Wake County PTA Council

Andrew Zukowski, UNC REX Healthcare